M-M-M Monster Member

Default freezing/slow computer

so my dad decided to finally buy parts and upgrade his old computer

dell dimension 8400
    Intel Pentium 4 3GHz
    windows xp sp2 32bit
    nvidia geforce gt 220
    3 gb ram

now, he's been complainin that its slow sometimes, and freezes that he needed to force shutdown. today i scanned it with MBAM, and bam 59 quarantine. i took care of that. i also scanned for viruses, norton didnt pickd up anything (i dont trust norton btw ) i clean out unnecessary files with ccleaner, and defragd it yesterday with auslogics.

i installed my mw2 on his computer awhile ago, i started playing the campaign with maxed out graphics and no sign of lag, works really great! love it.

but there are times while browsing, it slows down, takes time to load, and worse if there are multiple windows open.

anymore ways to boost the speed of this computer?
    i'd like to format it but dad didn't have recovery disks or OS disks.
    can't find any lol.

thanks in advance.
    dribbble.com/mjavier
    psyko is jelly.

Faulty hardware causes that,you prob getting memory licks,get a technician >.< your choice,well i work on my stuff alone but my brain can't function for other people's prob Oo fk drugs.

M-M-M Monster Member

Quote Originally Posted by shawn cenac View Post
    my brain can't function for other people's prob Oo fk drugs.
    lol thaswasup.

i'll check and see if i can update any new drivers for the new hardware and old today. but i think they were only updated from the CD installation that came with it. but i think those are out of date
    dribbble.com/mjavier
    psyko is jelly.

yea break those cd's and use update from the sites

1. Kill Norton, Norton is really hardware killer. You would see a big change after deinstall, if you need a good antivirus program, use Avast or Kaspersky.

2. Load the Program "WSUSOFFLINE" with that you can update your windows, if you need it.