network sites: arcadespot.com | animejolt.com
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Spotter got spotted!

Default [Release] Guessing Game v2

I've always been a big fan of coding. I started learning how to code in C++ a few weeks ago, using various tutorials and stuff online. I coded a small game a while ago where the user has to guess a number which is randomly generated when the program starts. I started making small changes to it as I learned more about C++. For example, I modified it so it has three difficulty levels. The user could choose whether the number would be between 1 and 10, 1 and 50, or 1 and 100. They would then have 8 tries to guess the number. I then changed it so the user could choose to play again afterwards.

Now, I made another small change. To practice reading and writing files, I made it output a log after certain actions are performed while the program is running. It's actually a bit trickier than it sounds.

Anyway, here's the complete program. The executable (for Windows), and the source code!

Download it from the attachments

All comments and suggestions are welcome! And if there are any C++ masters out there, I'd appreciate it if you could give me tips on how to improve my practise

NOTE:
    I coded and compiled this on Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit with Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Express Edition. Some headers used are only compatible with Windows, so sorry if you're using a different OS. I don't plan on trying to make everything OS-independent.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by SpotterMan; 08-19-2010 at 03:10 PM.

Retired

Upon "Would you like to play again" either option takes me to "You have chosen not to play again - Press any button to exit"

When a button is pressed, the whole thing just freezes.
    Last edited by Psyko; 08-18-2010 at 11:41 PM.

Spotter got spotted!